1. Home
  2. American Football
  3. Buffalo Bills

Buffalo Bills

Table of Contents


Who are the Buffalo Bills?

The Buffalo Bills were formed for the 1960 season. and played in the American Football League (AFL). In 1970, the AFL and NFL merged, thus the Bills became an NFL franchise. Notable players for the Bills include Jim Kelly, OJ Simpson and Bruce Smith.

  • Founding Year: 1960
  • City: Buffalo, NY
  • Conference: AFC
  • Division: East
  • Number of Super Bowls: 0
  • Mascot: Billy Buffalo
  • Owner: Terrence Pegula
  • Head Coach: Sean McDermott
  • Stadium: New Era Stadium


The Buffalo Bills early beginnings started as the 7th team in the American Football League. They eventually joined the National Football League for the 1970 season due to the merger of the two leagues. The late 1980's and 1990's were the glory years for the franchise as they went on to win four straight AFC championships from 1990-1993, resulting in four consecutive berths in the Super Bowl. However, all four appearances in the biggest game in football resulted in losses for the Bills. This gave them a record of most consecutive losses in a Super Bowl that still stands today. While the Bills continued to make the playoffs in the late 90's, they never could make it back to the big game. The low years began in 2000 and lasted all the way until 2016. During this time, the Bills did not make the playoffs at all as they fell short year after year. The streak was finally snapped in 2017 before they lost to the Jacksonville Jaguars in the AFC Wild Card Game.

The Bills play in the notoriously tough AFC East division. They are rivals with fellow AFC East foes New England Patriots, New York Jets, and the Miami Dolphins.



The Bills have produced many quality players over the years, with the best DE Bruce Smith. Smith was taken with the first overall pick in 1985 and was a force for their defense during their glory years. He went on to make 11 Pro Bowls and was named a first team All-Pro 8 times. He finished his career with a record 200 recorded QB sacks. His famous number 78 is retired by the Bills and he is a member of the NFL Hall of Fame.


  • apv-300x250
  • aa-300x250.png