How Many Super Bowls Have The Steelers Won?

How Many Super Bowls Have The Steelers Won

Every year, the National Football League hosts its annual Super Bowl game to determine its league winner. Since the first edition in 1967, some teams have stood out as being more successful than others. No team has been more successful than the Pittsburgh Steelers. The Steelers have won six Super Bowls, tied with the New England Patriots for the most all-time. The remainder of this article will briefly discuss each of those six championships.

Super Bowl IX (1974-1975)

Making their first-ever appearance in the Super Bowl in 1975, the Steelers certainly made it a memorable one. After winning the American Football Conference (AFC), the Steelers made it to Super Bowl IX, where they faced the National Football Conference champion Minnesota Vikings, who were in the game for the third time. In a low-scoring affair, the Steelers walked away with their first championship by a score of 16-6. Legendary Steelers running back Franco Harris was named the game’s MVP after rushing for a then-Super Bowl record 158 yards and a touchdown.

Super Bowl X (1975-1976)

After their triumph in 1975, the Steelers made it back to the big game again the following season. This time, they faced the NFC champion Dallas Cowboys, who were making their fourth Super Bowl appearance. The game was close throughout, with the Steelers using two fourth-quarter touchdowns to pull out a 21-17 victory. Steelers wide receiver Lynn Swann, who had four catches for a then-record 161 yards and a touchdown, became the first wide receiver to win the Super Bowl MVP award.

Super Bowl XIII (1978-1979)

Three years later, the Steelers and Cowboys faced off again in Super Bowl XIII. The game took place at the Orange Bowl in Miami, Florida. Once again, the game was close throughout, although it was much more high-scoring this time around. After four fourth-quarter touchdowns between the teams, the Steelers were victorious 35-31. Steelers quarterback Terry Bradshaw took him his first Super Bowl MVP Award, completing 17 of 30 passes for a then-record 318 yards and then-record four touchdowns.

Super Bowl XIV (1979-1980)

For the second time in their history, the Steelers would win back-to-back Super Bowls in 1980. This time, they faced off with the Los Angeles Rams of the NFC, who were making their first Super Bowl appearance, at the Rose Bowl in Pasadena. The Steelers saw themselves trailing 19-17 after three quarters, but once again, they would score two fourth-quarter touchdowns to take the win 31-19. For the second year in a row, Terry Bradshaw took home the MVP Award. This time, he threw for 309 yards and two touchdowns while completing 14 of his 21 passes.

Super Bowl XL (2005-2006)

After a long championship drought, Pittsburgh would win their fifth Super Bowl title in 2006. They took on the Seattle Seahawks, who were making their first-ever appearance in the Big Game in Super Bowl XL. While the Seahawks briefly led 3-0 early, the Steelers would score 21 of the last 28 points for a 21-10 victory. For the second time in Steeler history, a wide receiver took home the Super Bowl MVP Award, as it went to Hines Ward. Ward had five receptions for 123 yards and a touchdown.

Super Bowl  XLIII (2008-2009)

In 2009, the Steelers would take home their most recent Super Bowl title in Tampa, Florida. Once again, they went up against a first-time participant from the NFC, this time the Arizona Cardinals. Pittsburgh seemed to be cruising to victory, taking a 20-7 lead into the fourth quarter. The Cardinals would put up a serious rally, however, and the Steelers had to hang on for a 27-23 victory. Once again, a wide receiver would win the game’s MVP award, this time Santonio Holmes. Holmes would catch nine passes in the game for 131 yards and a touchdown.


When was the last time the Steelers won the Super Bowl?

The Steelers last won their Super Bowl in 2009. That year, they defeated the Arizona Cardinals 27-23 to take home the title. They have made it back to the game since, winning the AFC and making it to Super Bowl XLV in 2011. That time, however, they were defeated by the Green Bay Packers 31-25. The only other time the Steelers lost a Super Bowl was in 1996, when they lost to the Cowboys 27-17.