How Many Super Bowls Have The Seahawks Won?

How Many Super Bowls Have The Seahawks Won

Each year, the NFL hosts the Super Bowl to determine its champion. With the added support of a terrific fan base known as the “12th man,” the Seattle Seahawks have secured one Super Bowl title in three appearances.

After moving from the AFC to the NFC following the NFL’s conference realignment in 2002, Seattle moved into a new stadium and made the playoffs in five of the next six seasons. Known today as Lumen Field, Seahawks fans established a clear home-field advantage during three runs to the Super Bowl. Read on to learn about these seasons below!

Super Bowl XLVIII (2013-2014)

After nine seasons at USC, Pete Carroll took over as Seahawks’ head coach in 2010. By building through draft and trade acquisitions, Carroll established a terrific defensive core known as the “Legion of Boom” and a consistent offense led by Russell Wilson

The “Legion of Boom” went on to achieve historic defensive dominance. With 14 combined Pro Bowl appearances and six All-Pro honors, Richard Sherman, Earl Thomas, and Kam Chancellor anchored the Seattle defense and recorded the second-most starts in NFL history for a trio of defensive backs. With all three players starting, the Seahawks only lost by more than seven points on one occasion (2011, against the Bengals).

During Super Bowl XLVIII, the Seahawks won the franchise’s only Lombardi Trophy. In only the second meeting of two Number One-seeds in the previous 20 years, Seattle overpowered Peyton Manning’s Denver Broncos 43-8 at MetLife Stadium. Following a 69-yard interception return for a touchdown, Malcolm Smith was named Super Bowl MVP, and Russell Wilson added two passing touchdowns to cement the Seahawks’ victory.

Super Bowl Losses

Below are the Super Bowl appearances in which the Seattle Seahawks were defeated:

Super Bowl XLIX (2014-2015)

Leading up to Super Bowl XLIX, both teams were in the national headlines. For Seattle, the team retained a confident defense and high-powered offense that hoped to repeat as champions. On the other hand, the New England Patriots were scrutinized for their actions during the AFC Championship. This dispute over the pressure of game-used footballs was tabbed “Deflategate,” and later led the NFL to fine the Patriots $1 million, confiscate two draft selections, and punish Tom Brady with a four-game suspension.

In a back-and-forth battle at University of Phoenix Stadium, the Seahawks fell to the Patriots and failed to repeat as champions. On the game’s final drive, a Russell Wilson interception sealed a 28-24 Patriots victory. In one of the most controversial play calls of all time, the Seahawks opted to throw a pass to the end zone rather than handing the ball to Marshawn Lynch on second down at the one-yard line. In this moment, Patriots cornerback Malcolm Butler quickly reacted to intercept Wilson’s pass and clinch New England’s fourth Super Bowl title.

Super Bowl XL (2005-2006)

In 2005, the Seahawks made the franchise’s first Super Bowl appearance. Led by the season’s MVP Shaun Alexander, who recorded 27 touchdowns on the year, Seattle became the first team to ever play in an AFC and NFC championship game in NFL history. 

During Super Bowl XL, the Seahawks faced off against the Pittsburgh Steelers at Ford Field. As the first six-seed to ever reach the Super Bowl, Pittsburgh defeated the Seahawks 21-10 and cemented the victory with a trick-play touchdown caught by the eventual Super Bowl MVP, Hines Ward.


When was the last time the Seahawks won the Super Bowl?

The Seahawks won their most recent and only Super Bowl title in 2014. They defeated the Denver Broncos 43-8 in Super Bowl XLVIII to lift the franchise’s only Lombardi Trophy. At MetLife Stadium in New Jersey, Russell Wilson threw for 206 yards and two touchdowns, and Marshawn Lynch added a rushing touchdown. Seattle returned to Super Bowl XIX the following season but fell to the New England Patriots by a score of 28-24.