How Many Super Bowls Have The Saints Won?

How Many Super Bowls Have The Saints Won

Over the decades, the New Orleans Saints have always had great players, but were often far from winning a Super Bowl. Everything changed, however, in the 2006 season, when the team signed quarterback Drew Brees in free agency and named Sean Payton head coach. Now, let’s look at the New Orleans Saints’ Super Bowl and NFC Championship history.

Super Bowl XLIV (2009-2010)

The turnaround led by Brees and Payton had an immediate effect in New Orleans, as the Saints reached their first-ever Super Bowl in just four seasons under the quarterback-coach duo. The team got off to a strong start in 2009, dominating the regular season by winning 13 games in a row before dropping the last three. This gave them their second-ever NFC South title and the number one seed as they entered the playoffs.

The Cardinals awaited them in the NFL Divisional Round, but the game turned out to be a blowout, with the Saints winning 45-14. The Saints advanced to the NFC Championship, where they were set to face Brett Favre’s Minnesota Vikings. The game was hard-fought until the end, and only a field goal by Saints kicker Garrett Hartley gave New Orleans a 34-31 win in overtime.

Another great quarterback matchup was set for the Super Bowl, as Drew Brees’ Saints were facing Peyton Manning’s Indianapolis Colts. The Saints started off slow and were trailing 10-6 at halftime. However, Drew Brees came out strong after halftime, throwing two touchdowns to give the Saints the lead 24-17 with less than five minutes left in the game. Cornerback Tracy Porter sealed the game with a 74-yard pick-six to give the Saints their first-ever Super Bowl victory.

Notable Playoff Appearances

Below are the Saints’ appearances in the NFC Championship Game in which they lost, and unfortunately didn’t advance to the Super Bowl:

2006 NFC Championship

Before Payton’s appointment as head coach and Drew Brees’ signing, the Saints had never been to an NFC Championship Game. The duo immediately brought the Saints back to their winning ways and reached the first NFC Championship Game in franchise history in their first season in Louisiana.

The Saints finished the 2006 season with a 10-6 record, winning their first-ever NFC South Division title. This earned them the number two seed and a matchup with the Philadelphia Eagles in the Divisional round, which they won 27-24. The Saints, however, could not handle the Bears in the following round, as they were defeated 39-14 in the NFC Championship.

2018 NFC Championship

Following their Super Bowl title, the Saints could not make it back to the NFC Championship until 2019. With the Brees-Payton duo still up and running, a new young core highlighted by running back Alvin Kamara, cornerback Marshon Lattimore, and wide receiver Michael Thomas brought the Saints back among the best teams in the league.

Led by eight Pro Bowlers, the New Orleans Saints won the NFC South Division title after finishing with a 13-3 record. Super Bowl reigning champions, the Philadelphia Eagles, were their opponent in the NFC Divisional Round. The Saints defeated them after a tight contest and advanced to the NFC Championship against the Rams. Despite a great game by Kamara and Brees, the Saints ended up losing 26-23 after one of the most controversial no-calls in recent playoff history took the game to overtime.


When was the last time the Saints won the Super Bowl?

The New Orleans Saints last won a Super Bowl in 2010. New Orleans won Super Bowl XLIV after beating Indianapolis 34-17, led by a great performance from quarterback Drew Brees that earned him the MVP of the game. The Saints have reached the NFC Championship three times, with only one leading to a Super Bowl appearance following the 2009 season, when the Saints won their first and only title.