How Many Super Bowls Have The Ravens Won?

How Many Super Bowls Have The Ravens Won

Thanks to a generation that includes some of the best defenders in the history of the league, the Ravens have won two Super Bowls in their franchise history. Let’s take a look at the Ravens’ Super Bowl history.

Super Bowl XXXV (2000-2001)

As an expansion franchise, the Ravens struggled to win games in their first three years in the NFL, but everything changed when Brian Billick was appointed as the team’s head coach in 1999. Within two seasons in charge, Billick would take the Ravens to their first Super Bowl title in 2000.

Led by NFL Defensive Player of the Year Ray Lewis, the Baltimore Ravens finished the 2000 regular season with a 12-4 record. The defense proved to be hard to crack as they allowed only 16 points in their playoff route to the Super Bowl, beating the Broncos, Titans, and Raiders.

Super Bowl XXXV turned out to be another dominant display by the display from the Ravens’ defense, who did not allow a single passing or rushing touchdown and forced two fumbles and four interceptions from the Giants’ offense. Baltimore won with a smooth 34-7, and Ray Lewis took home the MVP award.

Super Bowl XLVII (2012-2013)

As Billick was fired at the end of the 2007 season, the Ravens started another chapter of dominance under newly hired head coach John Harbaugh. After two AFC Championships in four years under Harbaugh, the Ravens looked like one of the teams to beat in the NFL entering the 2012 season.

Following a 12-4 regular season, the Ravens quickly eliminated the Colts in the Wild Card Round, before beating the Broncos in a double overtime thriller and getting revenge on the Patriots in the AFC Championship. This earned them a ticket to Super Bowl XLVII, where they were set to face the San Francisco 49ers, who were led by Jim Harbaugh, John’s brother.

Super Bowl XLVII turned out to be a legendary contest, as both teams exchanged punches throughout a game that went down in history for its back-and-forth passion. The Ravens built themselves a 28-6 lead before the 49ers cut it down to five. However, two field goals by Justin Tucker late in the game sealed it for the Ravens, who won their second Super Bowl title.

2008 and 2011 AFC Championships

Ever since John Harbaugh became the franchise’s head coach in 2008, the Ravens have been a constant threat in the AFC, making two more trips to the AFC Championship besides the one in 2012 that ended up in their second Super Bowl title.

Led by rookie Joe Flacco, the Ravens reached the AFC Championship in Harbaugh’s first year but had to face heartbreak against one of their biggest rivals, the Pittsburgh Steelers. The same ending awaited them in the 2011 AFC Championship against the Patriots, following a regular season where they had won the AFC North Division title.


When was the last time the Ravens won the Super Bowl?

The last time the Ravens won the Super Bowl was in 2013. In their franchise history, the Baltimore Ravens have won two Super Bowl titles and played in four AFC Championship games. Their most recent Super Bowl title came in the 2012-2013 season, after beating the San Francisco 49ers 34-31.