How Many Super Bowls Have The NY Giants Won?

How Many Super Bowls Have The NY Giants Won

The New York Giants are one of five teams that have won at least four titles, and are among the teams with the best Super Bowl record in the history of the NFL. Big Blue is also the only team to have been crowned champion at least once in each of the last four decades. Now, let’s take a look at each of the Giants’ Super Bowl triumphs!

The Big Blue Wrecking Crew Era

Despite having won four NFL championships between 1927 and 1956, the New York Giants soon started a long playoff drought following the AFL-NFL merger. The G-Men would fail to qualify for the postseason from 1964 to 1981 in one of the longest playoff droughts in the history of the league. 

Things started changing for the New York Giants when they selected Harry Carson and Lawrence Taylor, respectively, in the 1976 and 1981 NFL Drafts. The two, together with Brian Kelley and Brad Van Pelt, formed the “Crunch Brunch,” one of the best linebackers corps in NFL history. Once Kelley and Van Pelt retired, the Giants added new firepower to defense with Gary Reasons, Carl Banks, Jim Burt, Leonard Marshall, and George Martin to create the “Big Blue Wrecking Crew.”

Super Bowl XXI (1986)

Led by the Big Blue Wrecking Crew, the New York Giants made it to their first Super Bowl in 1986. After a 14-2 regular season, the Giants entered the playoffs as the number one seed. They kept on dominating through the playoffs, as they crushed San Francisco 49-3 in the divisional round and Washington 17-0 in the NFC Championship Game, before beating John Elway’s Denver 39-20 in Super Bowl XXI.

Super Bowl XXV (1990)

After their first Super Bowl win, the Giants only made it to the playoffs once before their 1990 Super Bowl campaign. This time, the Giants qualified as the number two seed in the NFC after a 13-3 regular season, but still dominated in the divisional round as they beat the Bears 31-3. The Giants advanced to the NFC Championship where they beat the 49ers 15-13, before upsetting the Bills 20-19 in the Super Bowl thanks to a missed game-winning field goal by Scott Norwood.

Eli Manning Era

After their success in 1990, the Giants made it back to the Super Bowl in 2000 thanks to star defensive end Michael Strahan, but were defeated 34-7 against the Baltimore Ravens, with quarterback Kerry Collins that finished with four interceptions. However, Big Blue would make it back to the Super Bowl seven years later still led by Strahan, but this time with Eli Manning under center, who would lead them to their third Super Bowl win that year and to their fourth in 2011.

Super Bowl XLII (2007) and Super Bowl XLVI (2011)

Both Giants’ Super Bowl appearances with Eli Manning at quarterback came after a playoff route started in the Wild Card Round and ended facing the New England Patriots in the big game. In 2007, the Giants beat the Buccaneers, the Cowboys, and the Packers in the NFC playoffs, while in 2011 they defeated the Falcons, the Packers, and the 49ers. New York reached the Super Bowl as the underdog on both occasions, thanks to miraculous performances by their quarterback.


When was the last time the NY Giants won the Super Bowl?

The New York Giants won their last Super Bowl title in the 2011 season, when they beat the undefeated New England Patriots 17-14 to claim their second Lombardi Trophy in four seasons and the fourth in their history. Eli Manning was named Super Bowl MVP.