How Many Super Bowls Have The Dolphins Won?

How Many Super Bowls Have the Dolphins Won

For the Miami Dolphins, also known as the “Fins,” much of the team’s success occurred in the 1970s and 1980s. The Dolphins have a storied history as the only NFL team to record an undefeated season and one of only three teams to appear in three straight Super Bowls. As a franchise, the Dolphins have appeared in five Super Bowls and lifted the Lombardi Trophy on two occasions

Led by Don Shula, who compiled the most head coaching wins in NFL history, Miami emerged as a dominant franchise in the late 20th century. Here, the Dolphins’ Super Bowl victories and appearances will be outlined.

Super Bowl VII (1972-1973)

After losing to the Dallas Cowboys in the franchise’s inaugural Super Bowl appearance in 1971, Miami quickly rebounded during their next season. During Super Bowl VII, held at the Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum, the Dolphins defeated the Washington Redskins by a score of 14-7 and became the first and only team to achieve a perfect season in the Super Bowl era.

Dolphins’ safety Jake Scott was named Super Bowl MVP after recording two interceptions, yet the game’s most historic moment occurred late in the fourth quarter. With a score of 14-0, Don Shula sent out his kicker to make the score 17-0 and cap off a 17-0 season, a potential storybook ending to the year. However, the ensuing kick was blocked by the Redskins and the ball landed in the hands of Garo Yepremian, the Dolphins’ kicker! In this moment, Yepremian attempted to throw the ball downfield but it was quickly intercepted and returned for a touchdown, the only points recorded by the Redskins in the entire game.

Super Bowl VIII (1973-1974)

In 1973, the Dolphins became the first team to reach three consecutive Super Bowls, a feat that has only been matched by the Buffalo Bills (Super Bowls XXV-XXVIII) and New England Patriots (Super Bowls LI-LIII). As the first Super Bowl held at a non-NFL site, the Dolphins cruised to a 24-7 victory over the Minnesota Vikings at Rice Stadium. Led by fullback Larry Csonka, who compiled 145 rushing yards and two touchdowns, the Dolphins successfully repeated as Super Bowl champions.


When was the last time the Dolphins won the Super Bowl?

The Dolphins’ last Super Bowl victory came in 1973 against the Minnesota Vikings. In their third straight appearance, Miami repeated as champions in Super Bowl VIII and won by a score of 24-7. During this matchup at Rice Stadium in Houston, Larry Csonka rushed for 145 yards and two touchdowns, and Hall-of-Fame quarterback Bob Griese only recorded seven pass-attempts in a dominant Dolphins’ victory.