How Many Super Bowls Have The Commanders Won?

How Many Super Bowls Have the Commanders Won

At the conclusion of every season, the National Football League hosts its annual Super Bowl. The game is played to determine the league’s winner for that season. It has taken place every year since 1967, and over the years some teams have had some successful stretches. One of those franchises is the Washington Commanders, previously the Washington Redskins (1932-2020) and the Washington Football Team (2020-2021). The Washington franchise has won three Super Bowls throughout their history. The remainder of this piece will discuss those championships in detail, as well as their defeats.

Super Bowl XVII (1982-1983)

In 1983, Washington was making its second appearance in the Super Bowl in Super Bowl XVII. That year, the game took place at the Rose Bowl in Pasadena, California. As champions of the National Football Conference (NFC), Washington took on the American Football Conference (AFC) Champion Miami Dolphins. After Miami took a 17-10 lead into halftime, Washington scored 17 unanswered points in the second half to win their first Super Bowl by a score of 27-17. Running back John Riggins was named the game’s MVP after he rushed for 166 yards and one touchdown, along with one 15-yard reception.

Super Bowl XXII (1987-1988)

Five years after their first Super Bowl victory, Washington took home their second Super Bowl title at Super Bowl XXII in San Diego, California. This time, the Denver Broncos were representing the AFC. Denver was favored to win the game, and they looked like it early, taking a 10-0 lead after the first quarter. Washington then proceeded to have one of the most dominating quarters in NFL history, outsourcing Denver 35-0 in the second quarter. They would add another touchdown in the second half and win the game 42-10. Quarterback Doug Williams was named the game’s MVP, throwing for 340 yards and four touchdowns while completing 18 of his 29 passes.

Super Bowl XXVI (1991-1992)

The most recent Super Bowl championship for Washington took place in 1992 at Super Bowl XXVI in Minneapolis, Minnesota. They took on the AFC Champion Buffalo Bills, who were making their second straight appearance in the game after losing in 1991. After a scoreless first quarter, Washington once again dominated the second quarter, taking a 17-0 lead into halftime. Buffalo tried to battle back in the second half, but they could not dig into the lead enough, and Washington won their third Super Bowl 37-24. Once again, the Washington quarterback won MVP. Mark Rypien completed 18 of his 33 passes, threw for 292 yards, and two touchdowns.

Super Bowl Losses

Below are the Super Bowl appearances where Washington was defeated:

Super Bowl VII (1972-1973)

While Washington’s first Super Bowl title came in 1983, their first appearance came 10 years prior. At Super Bowl VII in Los Angeles, California, they were taking on the Miami Dolphins, who were looking to complete an undefeated season. Miami scored a touchdown in each of the first two quarters, and while Washington got one back in the second half, they could not find the second one, and Miami won by a score of 14-7. Dolphins’ safety Jake Scott recorded two interceptions for 63 return yards and became the first defensive back to win MVP of the Super Bowl.

Super Bowl XVIII (1983-1984)

A year after winning their first Super Bowl in 1983, Washington made it back to Super Bowl XVIII looking to defend their title. To meet them there were the Los Angeles (now Las Vegas) Raiders, champions of the AFC. Unfortunately for Washington, this year was not nearly as great as the year before. The Raiders dominated the game from the start and cruised to a 38-9 victory. Raiders’ running back Marcus Allen was the game’s MVP after rushing for 191 yards and two touchdowns.


When was the last time the Commanders won the Super Bowl?

The last time the Commanders franchise won a Super Bowl was in 1992, at Super Bowl XXVI in Minneapolis, Minnesota. They defeated the Buffalo Bills by a score of 37-24, marking a second straight Super Bowl defeat for the Bills and the second of an eventual four in a row. Washington quarterback Mark Rypien won the game’s MVP, completing 18 of his 33 passes, throwing for 292 yards, and two touchdowns.

Get Started Playing Daily Fantasy Sports

Jock MKT Jock MKT
  • Bonus : 100% first deposit match up to $100
  • Coupon Code : HEDGE
  • Rating : 4.5/5
  • Brand : Jock MKT
Claim Offer
FanDuel Fantasy FanDuel Fantasy
  • Bonus : 100% first deposit match up to $50
  • Rating : 4.9/5
  • Brand : FanDuel
Claim Offer