How Many Super Bowls Have the Chargers Won?

How Many Super Bowls Have the Chargers Won

The Super Bowl is the biggest game in football. It's where an NFL team has the chance to prove that they are the best of the best, and that they've earned the title of champions. The Los Angeles (formerly San Diego) Chargers are an underdog team that has seen success in past years, and has even had some opportunities to win the big game. How many Super Bowls have the Chargers won? Keep reading to find out.

How Many Super Bowls Have the Chargers Won?

The Los Angeles Chargers have never won a Super Bowl. Within the NFL, there are 12 teams that have never won the big game, including the Chargers. Additionally there are four teams that have never even made an appearance in the Super Bowl. While they have never won the Super Bowl in their 80-plus year history, the Chargers have had one Super Bowl appearance. The Chargers are also a regular contender and threat during the NFL Playoffs. Despite this, the total number of Super Bowl wins for the Chargers remains zero and the team has not been back to the Super Bowl since 1994.

Super Bowl XXIX Appearance

The Chargers have only been to one Super Bowl, during the 1994-1995 season, which was Super Bowl XXIX in Miami, Florida. After making it to the Super Bowl, the Chargers (at the time based in San Diego) lost to the San Francisco 49ers in a 49-26 blowout loss. The 13-6 Chargers were a major underdog facing the 16-3 49ers. However, the gap in score was not expected to be as great as 23 points. The loss is attributed to a combination of defensive inactivity, and a total of three interceptions thrown by the Chargers, which led to major scoring opportunities for the 49ers. During the course of the 1994-1995 season, the Chargers maintained a record of 11-5-0 and scored a season total of 381 points. As a result of their playoff victory in the AFC Championship Game, the Chargers, despite losing the Super Bowl, still secured the title of AFC Champions. This is the only AFC title the Chargers have held.

How Many Playoffs Have The Chargers Been To?

Since the team's formation in 1960, the Chargers have been to the NFL Playoffs 20 times. The first playoff game competed in by the Chargers was in the founding year of 1960, where the Chargers were defeated by the Houston Oilers in a 16-24 loss. The years in which the Chargers made the playoffs were 1960, 1961, 1963, 1964, 1965, 1979, 1980, 1981, 1982, 1992, 1994, 1995, 2004, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2013, 2018, and most recently 2022. 

The Chargers have also reached four AFC Championship Games in the years 1980, 1981, 1994, and 2007. However, the Chargers have only secured one AFC Championship Title, coming in 1994, the same year the Chargers lost the only Super Bowl they've ever appeared in.


When was the last time the chargers won the Super Bowl?

The Los Angeles Chargers have never won a Super Bowl. The Chargers are one of 12 NFL teams to have never won a Super Bowl. The last time the Chargers played in the Super Bowl was in the 1994-1995 season, against the San Francisco 49ers. During the course of Super Bowl XXIX in 1995, the Chargers were blown out by the 49ers by a score of 49-26. The Chargers have not been to a Super Bowl since.