How Many Super Bowls Have The Browns Won?

How Many Super Bowls Have The Browns Won

The Cleveland Browns have never won the Super Bowl in their franchise history; in fact, they have never even reached the Super Bowl. The Browns were established in 1944 and have won multiple AAFC and NFL Championships, but these occurred before the NFL and AFL merger in 1970. The Browns are known as one of the most losing organizations of the modern NFL. In 2017, the Browns went 0-16, marking the worst record in NFL history.

Despite all the losses, the Browns have reached the conference championship five times. These occurred in 1968, 1969, 1986, 1987, and 1989. The last time the Browns reached the playoffs was in 2020. They defeated the Steelers in the Wild Card round, marking their first playoff win in 26 years.

1968-1969 Browns

The 1968 Cleveland Browns made it to the NFL Championship but lost to the Baltimore Colts. The Browns finished the regular season in first place of the NFL Century division at 10-4. They faced the Cowboys in the Eastern Conference Championship, which they won 31-20. They went on to lose to the Colts 34-0 in the NFL Championship. This occurred during the Super Bowl era (1967-present) but before the NFL-AFL merger in 1970, which means the Colts went to the Super Bowl instead of the Browns. Browns’ backup quarterback Bill Nelsen is credited with much of the team's success. He led the team to an eight-game winning streak after replacing starter Frank Ryan.

1986-1987 Browns

The 1986 Cleveland Browns lost in the AFC Championship Game to the Denver Broncos, marking one of the best seasons in franchise history. The Browns, led by legendary coach Marty Schottenheimer, finished first in the AFC Central with a 12-4 record. In the playoffs, they defeated the Jets 23-20 in double overtime in the Divisional Round. However, in the AFC Championship Game, they were defeated 23-20 by the Broncos in overtime. Just before the season, promising defensive back Don Rodgers tragically passed away. Many thought this would hold the team back from success, but the team rallied and captured their first postseason win since 1969.

1989-1990 Browns

The 1989 Browns successfully reached the AFC Championship Game but again lost to the Denver Broncos, this time by a score of 37-21. The Browns finished first in the AFC Central at 9-6-1 under coach Bud Carson. The team defeated the Bills 34-30 in the AFC Divisional Round, but couldn’t keep their momentum against the Broncos in the AFC Championship. This marked the third time in four years the Browns reached the AFC Championship but didn’t advance to the Super Bowl.


When was the last time the Browns won the Super Bowl?

The Cleveland Browns have never won a Super Bowl in their history. The Browns have never even played in the Super Bowl. The closest the Browns have come to a Super Bowl is the AFC Championship. They reached the AFC Championship Game in 1968, 1969, 1986, 1987, and 1989, but lost all five times. The last time the Browns made the playoffs was in 2020. They beat the Steelers but would eventually lose to the AFC Champion Kansas City Chiefs.