How Many Super Bowls Have The Broncos Won?

How Many Super Bowls Have The Broncos Won

Every year, the National Football League hosts the Super Bowl to determine its league champion. The game has been held annually since 1967, and over the years, there have been plenty of teams to win multiple Super Bowls. One of those teams is the Denver Broncos. The Broncos have taken home the Lombardi trophy on three occasions. The Broncos also hold the record for most Super Bowl losses, as they have lost the Super Bowl on five occasions. Denver was defeated in the Super Bowl in 1978, 1987, 1988, 1990, and 2014. This piece will discuss their Super Bowl triumphs in greater detail.

Super Bowl XXXII (1997-1998)

In 1998, the Broncos were making their fifth appearance in the Super Bowl, but they had yet to take home the title of Super Bowl Champions. They had come up short in 1978, 1987, 1988, and 1990. However, in Super Bowl XXXII in San Diego, California, they were finally able to come out on top. In the game, the Broncos, as American Football Conference (AFC) champions, faced the Green Bay Packers of the National Football Conference (NFC). The game was back and forth throughout, with Denver eventually pulling out a one-score victory 31-24. Broncos running back Terrell Davis would take home the game’s MVP Award, rushing for 157 yards and three rushing touchdowns while also catching two passes for eight yards.

Super Bowl XXXIII (1998-1999)

After their previous Super Bowl struggles, the Broncos put all of those bad experiences to bed when they won back-to-back Super Bowls in 1998 and 1999. The second of the two was Super Bowl XXXIII in Miami, Florida. This time, the NFC Champion was the Atlanta Falcons. Unlike the previous year’s game, this one was not as close, as the Broncos took a 17-6 halftime lead and won rather easily by a final score of 34-19. Legendary Broncos quarterback John Elway eventually took home the game’s MVP Award, throwing for 336 yards and one touchdown while completing 18 of his 29 passes. Elway became the oldest player ever to win the MVP Award at 38 years old, a record that would not be surpassed until Tom Brady did so at age 39 in 2017.

Super Bowl 50 (2015-2016)

After a 17-year drought, the Broncos would once again prevail as Super Bowl champions. This special Super Bowl in 2016 was the 50th edition of the game, and rather than using Roman numerals to identify the game, as had been the case with the previous 49, the game was simply known as “Super Bowl 50.” It took place in Santa Clara, California, and saw the Broncos compete against the NFC Champion Carolina Panthers. While the Panthers were the favorite coming in, the Broncos proved they were the better team on that day, winning by two touchdowns 24-10. Broncos’ linebacker Von Miller was named the game’s MVP, showing how vital the Broncos’ defense was in the win. Miller had six tackles, two quarterback hits, 2.5 sacks, two forced fumbles, and a pass defended.


When was the last time the Broncos won the Super Bowl?

The last time the Broncos won the Super Bowl was Super Bowl 50 in 2016. The game took place in Santa Clara, California, and saw the Broncos defeat the Carolina Panthers by a score of 24-10. Linebacker Von Miller took home the MVP award after registering a loaded stat line: six tackles, 2.5 sacks, two quarterback hits, a pass defended, and two forced fumbles. The Broncos’ defense was key to this victory.