How Many Super Bowls Have The Bills Won?

How Many Super Bowls Have the Bills Won

Although the Buffalo Bills reached an NFL record four consecutive Super Bowls from 1990-1993, they have yet to secure a Super Bowl title. Under the direction of Hall-of-Fame head coach Marv Levy, the Bills ranked first in AFC win percentage from 1988-1997 but failed to earn a Super Bowl victory. In fact, the Bills are tied with the Minnesota Vikings for the most Super Bowl appearances without a win and rank second for the most Super Bowl losses of all time. Read on to learn more about the Bills end-of-season struggles, including some of the notable Super Bowls they have appeared in, but not won.

Super Bowl XXV Loss (1991)

After defeating the Los Angeles Raiders 51-3 in the AFC Championship of 1991, Buffalo fans eagerly awaited their first Super Bowl appearance. However, at Tampa Stadium, the New York Giants overpowered the Buffalo Bills 20-19 in Super Bowl XXV. To counter the highest-ranked offense in the NFL, the Giants employed a run-based attack led by Ottis Anderson and maintained possession for 40 minutes and 33 seconds of the game.

Although the Giants dominated in possession, Jim Kelly led the Bills on a late fourth quarter drive that looked to secure the title. After spiking the ball with eight seconds remaining, Super Bowl XXV ended when the Bills’ kicker, Scott Norwood, missed a 47-yard field goal as time expired. Even after making the Super Bowl the next three seasons, this moment was the closest the Bills came to lifting the Lombardi Trophy.

Super Bowl XXVI Loss (1992)

In the following season, the Bills returned to Super Bowl XXVI and matched up against the 17-2 Washington Redskins. In the Metrodome in Minneapolis, the Redskins defeated the Bills 37-24 and handed Buffalo their second straight Super Bowl loss. During this matchup, Jim Kelly was sacked on five occasions, threw four interceptions, and lost one fumble.

Super Bowl XXVII (1993) and Super Bowl XXVIII (1994) Losses

The Bills’ path to Super Bowl XXVII was record-setting for several reasons. First, the franchise matched an NFL record of three consecutive Super Bowl appearances. During an AFC Wild Card matchup against the Houston Oilers, the Bills also staged the largest postseason comeback in NFL history. With Jim Kelly and Thurman Thomas sidelined due to injury, the Bills overcame a 35-3 deficit to defeat the Oilers 41-38.

During Super Bowl XXVII, the Bills met their match against the Dallas Cowboys. At the Rose Bowl Stadium, the Cowboys’ defense forced a Super Bowl-record nine turnovers en route to a 52-17 victory over Buffalo. In his return to Southern California, Cowboys quarterback Troy Aikman threw four touchdowns and won the MVP award.

The Bills returned to the Super Bowl for the fourth consecutive year in 1993 and faced the Cowboys in the only Super Bowl rematch in consecutive seasons in NFL history. Although Buffalo jumped out to a 13-6 lead in the Georgia Dome, Emmitt Smith scored two second-half touchdowns and the Cowboys scored 24 unanswered points to defeat the Bills 30-13 and win Super Bowl XXVIII.


When was the last time the Bills won the Super Bowl?

The Bills have yet to win a Super Bowl title. As one of 12 teams to never win a title, Buffalo is tied with the Minnesota Vikings for the most Super Bowl appearances without a victory. From 1990-1993, the Bills set an NFL record by reaching four consecutive Super Bowls, yet the franchise failed to ever lift the Lombardi Trophy.