How Many National Championships Has Georgia Won?

How Many National Championships Has Georgia Won

The Georgia Bulldogs football team, which is part of the Southeastern Conference (SEC) and National College Athletics Association (NCAA), has won three National Championships overall. The Dawgs’ latest National Championship win was during the 2021-2022 football season. Georgia defeated the Alabama Crimson Tide football team 33-18, ending the 40-year gap between the Dawgs’ second National Championship win, which occurred in 1980.

The first National Championship title won by the Georgia Bulldogs was in 1942. Despite not having many National Championship titles, the Dawgs football team is one of the best in the SEC and college football in recent history.

1942 National Championship Win

While major world events like World War II altered many people’s lives, the Georgia Bulldogs football team earned their first National Championship title under the direction of Coach Wally Butts in 1942. The Bulldogs defeated Georgia Tech (which is one of the team’s most notable rivals) 34-0 at their home stadium, Sanford Stadium, in Athens, Georgia. The National Championship win solidified the Dawgs as a force to be reckoned with in college football. Defeating the Yellow Jackets also paved the way for the Bulldogs to become a powerhouse in SEC football.

1980 National Championship Win

The Bulldogs won their second National Championship title in 1980. A majority of the Georgia football team’s success in 1980 was due to adding running back Herschel Walker earlier that year. The Bulldogs defeated the Notre Dame Fighting Irish 17-10, thanks to Coach Vince Dooley’s lead. Although the football team wouldn’t win another National Championship title for 40 years, the Bulldogs had built up their football team to be one of the best in the SEC, and would continue to be highly respected despite their championship drought.

2021 National Championship Win

Georgia won their third National Championship in 2021. Under the guidance of Coach Kirby Smart and quarterback Stetson Bennett IV, the Dawgs defeated the Alabama Crimson Tide 33-18. This National Championship win was quite special in particular, since Bennett was a walk-on player. During the championship game, Georgia was able to stifle Bryce Young and the rest of Alabama’s offensive team, while scoring several touchdowns against the defense.


How many times has Georgia won the National Championship in college football?

The University of Georgia football team has won three National Championship titles in college football in 1942, 1980, and 2021. Their first championship was a 34-0 victory over Georgia Tech. Their second win, in 1980, was a 17-10 battle with the Notre Dame Fighting Irish. Finally, in their most recent championship victory, the Bulldogs dominated the Alabama Crimson Tide 33-18 in the 2021 National Championship Game.  

When was Georgia’s last National Championship in football?

The Georgia Bulldogs’ most recent National Championship in football was during the 2021-2022 football season. The Dawgs defeated the Alabama Crimson Tide in the championship game 33-18. This game was particularly special for Georgia, as it was led by their walk-on quarterback, Stetson Bennett IV. Bennet completed 17 out of his 26 passes for 224 yards and threw two touchdowns in the game.