Football Sugar Bowl

What is the Sugar Bowl in Football?

The Sugar Bowl game is one of six major College Football games that takes place on or around January 1st. The game is held in the Mercedes-Benz Superdome, in New Orleans, Louisiana. In 2014, the Sugar Bowl became part of the College Football Playoffs (CFP) alongside the Cotton Bowl, the Fiesta Bowl, the Orange Bowl, the Peach Bowl, and the Rose Bowl. All those Bowl Games rotate to host one of two National College Football semi-finals every three years. The Sugar Bowl hosted its first semi-final in 2015.

The Sugar Bowl has a conference tie-in with the SEC and the Big-12 conference, and so whenever it is not hosting a National College Football semi-final, it traditionally brings together the champions of those two conferences. Together with the Orange Bowl the Sugar Bowl is the second oldest bowl game in existence, behind the Rose Bowl.

Sugar Bowl History

The Sugar Bowl was inspired by the "granddaddy of them all", the Rose Bowl. The goal was to have a New Year's football game like the one in Pasadena, only in New Orleans. The idea came up in 1927, but it was only in 1935 that the first Sugar Bowl game was played. The game was held in the Tulane Stadium, at the Tulane University campus and it featured the home team against Temple University. The game ended with Tulane defeating Temple 20-14.

Traditionally SEC teams played at the Sugar Bowl, but there was no official agreement between the conference and the game until 1976, when both parts made the relationship official. However, the tie-in with the Big-12 was filmed much later, only in 2015.

The game was played at the Tulane Stadium from 1936 until 1974. In 1975 the game was first played at what is now called the Mercedes-Benz Superdome, which has hosted every Sugar Bowl game from that year on, but one. The exception is in the year of 2006, when due to the destruction caused by Hurricane Katrina the game was played at the Georgia Dome.

Winning the Sugar Bowl

The culture of New Orleans transcends to the Sugar Bowl, making it a very festive and celebrational experience for sports fans and teams. But that doesn't mean the competition is any less fierce; if anything it makes a more desired stage by players and coaches. Also, being one of the six major College Football bowl games, teams are very motivated to give their best effort at the Sugar Bowl. The winning team gets to take home a payout of 18 million dollars, together with the Sugar Bowl trophy, a shiny, antique looking trophy. Some of the great programs that have achieved the glory of winning the Sugar Bowl are Florida, Alabama, Ohio State, and Oklahoma.