Big 12 College Football Championship

Big 12 College Football Championship

The Big 12 Championship Game is an annual postseason college football game that is played to determine the champion of the Big 12 Conference. It was first played in 1996 but was discontinued after the 2010 edition. The game was reinstated in 2017 and has been played every year since. Read on to learn all about the Big 12 Championship Game!

What is the Big 12 Championship Game in College Football?

The Big 12 Championship Game, played the first weekend of December, is a head-to-head matchup between the two teams with the best Big 12 winning percentages. The winner of the game is declared the Big 12 Champion.

The game has been played at several venues throughout its history but has been located at AT&T Stadium in Arlington, TX, since 2017. Like other conference championships, there is no monetary payout for playing in or winning the game. Still, participants benefit from TV exposure and publicity associated with playing in a conference championship game.

Basic Information:

  • Stadium: AT&T Stadium
  • Location: Arlington, TX
  • First Game: 1996 (hiatus from 2011-2016)
  • Conference Affiliation: Big 12
  • Most Appearances: Oklahoma (12)
  • Most Wins: Oklahoma (11)

2022 Big 12 College Football Championship

The 2022 Big 12 Championship Game was played on December 3rd, 2022, in Arlington, TX. The Kansas State Wildcats defeated the Texas Christian University (TCU) Horned Frogs by a score of 31-28. The Wildcats won the game on a field goal in overtime. Wildcat running back Deuce Vaughan was named MVP.

Coming into the championship game, TCU was undefeated, with a record of 12-0. Kansas State entered with a record of 9-3. TCU was victorious in the previous meeting of the two teams on October 22nd, 2022. Despite the championship game loss, TCU still remained in the top four of the College Football Playoff ranking.

Big 12 College Football Championship History

The Big 12 Championship Game was first played in 1996. The Big 12 was originally split into North and South divisions, and the winners of each division would face off in the championship game. This format lasted through 2010. After that season, Colorado and Nebraska left the conference, leaving the Big 12 with only 10 teams. NCAA rules at that time stated that a conference must have at least 12 members to hold a championship game, so there was no Big 12 Championship Game until the rule was changed for the 2017 season.

Historically, the game has been dominated by the Oklahoma Sooners, who have 11 wins in 12 appearances, including wins in four of the six games since 2017. Several Oklahoma quarterbacks from recent championship-winning teams have gone on to the NFL, including Baker Mayfield, Kyler Murray, and Jalen Hurts.

Former Big 12 member Nebraska won two of the first four games, in 1997 and 1999. The Cornhuskers moved to the Big Ten Conference in 2010.

Results by Team

Oklahoma Sooners1211
Texas Longhorns63
Kansas State Wildcats42
Baylor Bears21
TCU Horned Frogs20
Iowa State Cyclones 10
Oklahoma State Cowboys10
Texas Tech Red Raiders00
Kansas Jayhawks00
West Virginia Mountaineers00
Nebraska Cornhuskers*62
Colorado Buffaloes*41
Texas A&M Aggies*21
Missouri Tigers*20

* team is no longer a member of the Big 12 Conference


How do teams qualify for the Big 12 Championship in college football?

The two Big 12 teams with the best conference winning percentage qualify for the Big 12 Championship Game. From 1996 to 2010, the Big 12 was split into two divisions, North and South, and the winner of each division qualified for the championship game. After a six-year hiatus from 2011 to 2016, the game returned in its current format in 2017.

When is the Big 12 Championship in college football?

The Big 12 Championship usually takes place on the first Saturday of December. The 2022 edition took place on December 3rd, 2022. The game has traditionally kicked off at 11 a.m. Central Time, and is broadcast on ABC. The current title sponsor of the game is Dr. Pepper.

Where is the Big 12 Championship played?

Since 2017, the game has been played at AT&T Stadium in Arlington, TX. The game was also played there in 2009 and 2010. AT&T Stadium will host the game through at least 2025. In the past, the game was also played in St. Louis and Kansas City, MO, and Irving and Houston, TX.