Big 10 College Football Championship

big ten college football championship

The Big Ten Championship Game is a postseason college football game that determines the winner of the Big Ten Conference. Since 2011, when the game was first played, it has been won by the Ohio State Buckeyes five times. Read on to find out all you need to know about the Big Ten Championship Game!

What is the Big Ten Championship Game in College Football?

The Big Ten Championship Game is played annually to determine the college football champion of the Big Ten Conference. The Big Ten, one of the Power Five conferences of college football, is split into two divisions: East and West. In the Big Ten Championship, the East and West teams with the best conference records go head-to-head to determine a champion. Since its inception in 2011, the game has been played every year at Lucas Oil Stadium in Indianapolis, Indiana, and it is broadcast on the FOX television network. Like many other conference championships, it is traditionally held on the first Saturday of December. 

Basic Information:

  • Stadium: Lucas Oil Stadium
  • Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
  • First Game: 2011
  • Conference Affiliation: Big Ten
  • Most Appearances: Ohio State/Wisconsin (both with 6 appearances)
  • Most Wins: Ohio State (5 wins)

2022 Big Ten College Football Championship

The 2022 edition of the Big Ten Championship was played on December 3, 2022, with a matchup between the Michigan Wolverines (East Division) and the Purdue Boilermakers (West Division). Michigan defeated Purdue by a score of 43-22 to secure their second consecutive Big Ten Championship

With their victory, Michigan improved their record to 13 wins and zero losses, their highest win total in program history. It was Purdue’s first-ever appearance in the Big Ten Championship, and they trailed by only one point at halftime. However, Michigan extended their lead dramatically during the second half and ended up winning by 21 points. The game’s Most Valuable Player was Michigan running back Donovan Edwards, who ran for 185 rushing yards and scored a touchdown

Big Ten College Football Championship History

Prior to the establishment of the Big Ten Championship Game in 2011, the team with the best regular-season record in the conference was declared the champion. This had been the norm for all Power Five conferences up until the 1990s, when the SEC and Big 12 implemented their respective championship games. The Big Ten and the PAC-12 were the final Power Five conferences to begin playing a championship game, both doing so for the first time in 2011. 

The first two editions of the game were won by the Wisconsin Badgers, who were led by future NFL quarterback Russell Wilson during their first win in 2011. The Badgers defeated the Michigan State Spartans that year by a score of 42-39. The next year, in 2012, the Badgers beat the Nebraska Cornhuskers to secure their second consecutive championship. Despite early success, Wisconsin has not won again since 2012, and the Ohio State Buckeyes have made their mark with six appearances and five wins since 2012. The Buckeyes won four straight titles from 2017-2020, with numerous future professional stars like Nick Bosa, Chase Young, and Justin Fields

Results by Team

Ohio State Buckeyes65
Wisconsin Badgers62
Michigan State Spartans32
Michigan Wolverines22
Penn State Nittany Lions11
Northwestern Wildcats20
Iowa Hawkeyes20
Nebraska Cornhuskers10
Purdue Boilermakers10
Illinois Fighting Illini00
Indiana Hoosiers00
Maryland Terrapins00
Minnesota Golden Gophers00
Rutgers Scarlet Knights00


How do teams qualify for the Big Ten Championship in college football?

The team with the best conference record in each of the Big Ten’s two divisions (East and West) qualifies for the Big Ten Championship Game. These two teams compete for the Big Ten title. The divisions used to be called the “Leaders” and “Legends” divisions prior to realignment in 2014, and before the 2010 season, there were no divisions at all.

When is the Big Ten Championship in college football?

The Big Ten Championship takes place on the first Saturday of December. The 2022 edition took place on December 3, 2022 at 8 PM E.T. and was broadcast on FOX. The first weekend of December is known as “conference championship weekend” in college football. Championship games take place on both Friday and Saturday of this weekend.

Where is the Big Ten Championship played?

The Big Ten Championship has been played at Lucas Oil Stadium in Indianapolis, Indiana, every year since its inception in 2011. In 2022, the Big Ten announced they had reached an agreement with Indiana Sports Corp to keep the game at Lucas Oil Stadium, home of the NFL’s Indianapolis Colts, through at least 2024.