ACC College Football Championship

ACC College Football Championship

The ACC College Football Championship, known officially as the ACC Championship Game, is a postseason college football game whose winner is declared the champion of the Atlantic Coast Conference (ACC). The game was first played in 2005 and has been played every year since then. Continue reading to learn all about the ACC Championship Game!

What is the ACC Championship Game in College Football?

The ACC Championship Game is played to determine the college football champion of the Atlantic Coast Conference. It is played between the winners of the ACC’s two divisions (Coastal and Atlantic). The game is currently held at Bank of America Stadium in Charlotte, North Carolina, but several other venues have hosted the game since its inception in 2005. The ACC Championship Game is the third-oldest Power Five conference championship game, after the SEC and Big 12 championship games.

The ACC Football Championship Trophy is presented to the winning team in a post-game ceremony. Although there is no monetary payout for winning the ACC Championship Game, the participating teams benefit from increased television exposure and advertising associated with playing in the game.

Basic Information:

  • Stadium: Bank of America Stadium
  • Location: Charlotte, North Carolina
  • First Game: 2005
  • Conference Affiliation: ACC
  • Most Appearances: Clemson (9 appearances)
  • Most Wins: Clemson (8 wins)

2022 ACC College Football Championship

The 2022 ACC Championship Game was played on December 3rd, 2022, in Charlotte, North Carolina. The winners of the Atlantic Division, the Clemson Tigers, defeated Coastal Division champion North Carolina by a score of 39-10. This was Clemson’s eighth win in nine appearances in the game, by far the most ACC Championship wins of any team. Clemson’s backup quarterback, Cade Klubnik, earned MVP honors after replacing starter D.J. Uiagalelei early in the game. The game was attended by 64,115 spectators and was broadcast on the ABC television network.

ACC College Football Championship History

The ACC Championship Game was first played at the conclusion of the 2005 season. Previously, the team with the best regular-season record was awarded the title of ACC Champion. Beginning in 2005, the conference was organized into two divisions (Atlantic and Coastal), and the team with the best record in each division moved on to the Championship Game. In the inaugural 2005 game, the Florida State Seminoles defeated the Virginia Tech Hokies, 27-22, in Jacksonville, FL.

Overall, the ACC Championship Game has been dominated by the Clemson Tigers, who have won eight of the 18 games since 2005, including six straight victories from 2015-2020. Many of the game’s MVP winners have gone on to play in the NFL, including Dalvin Cook, Travis Etienne, and Trevor Lawrence.

The ACC Championship game has been played in several different locations. From 2005-2007, it was played in Jacksonville, FL. Next, the host was Tampa Bay, FL, for 2008 and 2009. Since 2010, the game has been played in Charlotte, NC, except for 2016, when it was held in Orlando, FL.

Results by Team

Clemson Tigers98
Florida State Seminoles54
Virginia Tech Hokies63
Wake Forest Demon Deacons21
Pittsburgh Panthers21
Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets41
Boston College Eagles20
North Carolina Tar Heels20
Duke Blue Devils10
Miami Hurricanes10
Virginia Cavaliers10
Louisville Cardinals00
North Carolina State Wolfpack00
Syracuse Orange00
Notre Dame Fighting Irish*10

* Notre Dame is typically an independent team but played a full ACC schedule in 2020 due to the COVID-19 pandemic.


How do teams qualify for the ACC Championship in college football?

Teams qualify for the ACC Championship by winning their respective divisions. The ACC is broken up into Coastal and Atlantic divisions. The division winners are determined by conference win-loss record. The two teams from each division with the best records qualify for the ACC Championship Game.

When is the ACC Championship in college football?

The ACC Championship Game is held during Conference Championship weekend, which is usually the first weekend of December. Generally, the game takes place at 8 PM E.T. on the first Saturday of December. The 2022 edition took place at that time on December 3rd, 2022.

Where is the ACC Championship played?

The ACC Championship Game is played at Bank of America Stadium in Charlotte, NC, home of the Carolina Panthers of the NFL. In past years, it has also been held in Jacksonville, Tampa Bay, and Orlando, Florida.