Where Are The Next 5 FIFA World Cups?

Where Are The Next 5 FIFA World Cups

The FIFA World Cup is a time when nations come together for healthy yet passionate competition and a combination of patriotism and loyalty. The first World Cup was in 1930, and the competition was strictly for men until 1991, when the Women’s Tournament began. Since then, both competitions have rapidly grown and have been hosted on most continents. Between five and eight years before each World Cup, the host nation or nations are announced. With that in mind, where are the next five FIFA World Cups?

The Next 5 Men’s FIFA World Cups

Below are the years, dates, and host nation(s) of the next five FIFA Men’s World Cups:

2022November 20 - December 18Qatar
2026June 8 - July 3United States of AmericaCanadaMexico
2030UndeterminedTo be determined, current bidders are:Spain and Portugal (possibly Ukraine)Uruguay, Argentina, Chile, and ParaguayMorocco
2034UndeterminedUndetermined – the host will be selected in 2027
2038UndeterminedUndetermined – the host will be selected in 2031

The Next 5 Women’s FIFA World Cups

Below are the years, dates, and host nation(s) of the next five FIFA Men’s World Cups:

2023July 20 - August 20AustraliaNew Zealand
2027UndeterminedTo be determined, current bidders are:Belgium, Germany, and the NetherlandsSouth Africa

How Does the Bidding Process Work for the World Cup?

The bidding process is what happens before each World Cup in order to determine the host nation. Right now, the bidding process is taking place for the 2027 and 2030 Women’s and Men’s World Cups. With the exponential global spread of soccer, the bidding process is becoming more important than ever. Countries must clear protocols and submit bids on time. The process can become political and quite dramatic when it comes down to two final countries.

Typically, bidding happens seven years before each tournament and is thoughtfully determined after the countries make their decision as to whether or not to bid. Previously, FIFA allowed 24 members of their executive committee to vote, but because of certain political corruption and swaying of votes, FIFA opened their voting to all member associations.

What Country Has Hosted the Most FIFA World Cups?

There are five countries that have hosted the FIFA World Cup twice: Italy, Germany, France, Brazil, and Mexico. No country has hosted the Men’s World Cup three times. However, when the 2026 World Cup comes about, Mexico will be in the lead, as they are hosting with the United States and Canada. For the Women’s Cup, the United States is in the lead for hostings, having hosted the tournament twice out of the eight cups.


Who won the 2018 FIFA World Cup?

In the 2018 Men’s World Cup in Russia, France beat Croatia at a score of 4-2. This was a monumental win, as it was France’s first since 1998. In the previous Women’s World Cup hosted by France, the United States Women’s National Team beat the Netherlands 2-0. This was the United States’ fourth win out of all eight Women’s World Cup tournaments. The U.S. Men’s Team has yet to win but is looking closer to one as the years progress.

Who are the top contenders in the next World Cups?

It is quite a challenge to make a prediction as to who will win the next World Cup. For the Men’s Tournament, the current top three in FIFA World Rankings are Brazil, Belgium, and Argentina. The current top three rankings for Women’s Soccer in FIFA are the United States, Sweden, and Germany. These three contenders are quite predictable for the women, as there has not been much change in rankings across the last few Women’s World Cups.

How many people watch the World Cup?

For the 2022 Qatar World Cup, FIFA announced that just over three million tickets have been sold. In terms of how many attend per game, each game hosts upwards of 100,000 people! Additionally, it has been announced that this year over five billion people worldwide are expected to tune in virtually. During the 2019 Women’s World Cup in France, over one billion people tuned in worldwide, and around 20,000 people attended the matches.