FIFA World Cup Trophy

FIFA World Cup Trophy

The FIFA World Cup is one of the most competitive tournaments in the world. The winner is given the famous World Cup Trophy, a large golden globe placed on top of a celebrating figure, to mark their victory. The FIFA World Cup Trophy is a unique prize like no other, but which countries have won the award over the years, and what other major trophies have been given to World Cup winners in the past? Read on to learn more about World Cup trophies!

What Is The FIFA World Cup Trophy?

The FIFA World Cup Trophy is the prize that is given to the tournament-winning team every four years after the FIFA World Cup. Often the centerpiece for iconic photos, the FIFA World Cup Trophy is traditionally raised in the middle of the stadium by the winning team at the end of the final.  The current design dates back to the 1974 FIFA World Cup.

A 6.2 kilogram, 18-karat gold statue, the trophy features a golden globe held up by two abstract human figures. The design was produced by a sculptor named Silvio Gazzaniga. Historically, the winning team would hold on to the trophy following their victory, keeping it until the following World Cup draw. However, in recent years, FIFA has done away with this practice, opting to give the winning teams gold-plated bronze replicas of the iconic statue. Following each World Cup, the winning team’s country name is engraved into the base of the authentic trophy.

The FIFA World Cup Trophy that is seen today was not always the iconic award given to the winning team after each competition. Prior to 1974, the trophy was actually called the Jules Rimet Trophy and featured a different design. However, FIFA opted to change the iconic World Cup trophy in 1974.

In 1983, while the original trophy was placed on display in Brazil, it mysteriously went missing. FIFA was unable to recover their historic Jules Rimet trophy. Since 1974, the iconic globe and figurine design has been in place until today.

FIFA World Cup Trophy Winners List

Here is a list of FIFA World Cup Trophy winners by year, beginning in 1974, the year the modern trophy was first introduced:

  • 1974 FIFA World Cup: West Germany
  • 1978 FIFA World Cup: Argentina
  • 1982 FIFA World Cup: Italy
  • 1986 FIFA World Cup: Argentina
  • 1990 FIFA World Cup: Germany
  • 1994 FIFA World Cup: Brazil
  • 1998 FIFA World Cup: France
  • 2002 FIFA World Cup: Brazil
  • 2006 FIFA World Cup: Italy
  • 2010 FIFA World Cup: Spain
  • 2014 FIFA World Cup: Germany
  • 2018 FIFA World Cup: France

What countries have won the most FIFA World Cup Trophies?

Here is a list of the countries with the most World Cup Trophy wins by year for the Men's FIFA World Cup. Note that this list is not a list of countries with the most World Cup wins overall, but a list of countries who have won the most World Cups since the introduction of the modern trophy in 1974:

  • West Germany/Germany - 3 (1974, 1990, 2014)
  • Argentina - 2 (1978, 1986)
  • Italy - 2 (1982, 2006)
  • Brazil - 2 (1994, 2002)
  • France - 2 (1998, 2018)
  • Spain - 1 (2010)

What Is The Jules Rimet Trophy?

The Jules Rimet Trophy was the original prize for the FIFA World Cup winning team. Introduced in 1930, the gold-plated, sterling silver trophy was slightly smaller than the current FIFA World Cup Trophy and featured an image of the Ancient Greek goddess of victory, Nike, holding a cup. At this time, the trophy was simply called the World Cup. Decades later, following World War II, the Jules Rimet Trophy was named after the third president of FIFA, Jules Rimet. This is because Rimet played a large role in the birth of the original FIFA World Cup in 1930.

The Jules Rimet Trophy is iconic, not only due to its prestige and beauty but also its exciting history. In 1966, the trophy was stolen from its display in Westminster Central Hall in England. This sparked a frenzy in the global soccer world. On the seventh day after its theft, the trophy was found when police arrested a man named Edward Betchly, who was involved in the heist. Interestingly, Betchly had apparently sent a ransom note to the police, demanding a fee for the trophy’s return, but when caught, he claimed that he was only a go-between. He was convicted of stealing the trophy and received two years in prison. 

From 1966 to 1983, the Jules Rimet trophy remained safe until it was stolen yet again. This time, while on display in Brazil, the trophy was taken again, and since 1983, the Jules Rimet trophy has remained lost, with no one knowing what happened to it. Luckily, earlier in 1974, FIFA introduced the new World Cup Trophy, featuring the two golden figurines holding up a globe. This trophy replaced the Jules Rimet Trophy before its permanent disappearance and remains the iconic gold statue that is held up by the competition winners every four years.

Jules Rimet Trophy Winners List

Here is a list of Jules Rimet Trophy winners by year for the men's FIFA World Cup:

  • 1930 FIFA World Cup: Uruguay
  • 1934 FIFA World Cup: Italy
  • 1938 FIFA World Cup: Italy
  • 1950 FIFA World Cup: Uruguay
  • 1954 FIFA World Cup: West Germany
  • 1958 FIFA World Cup: Brazil
  • 1962 FIFA World Cup: Brazil
  • 1966 FIFA World Cup: England
  • 1970 FIFA World Cup: Brazil

What countries have won the most Jules Rimet Trophies in the FIFA World Cup?

Here is a list of the countries with the most Jules Rimet Trophy wins by year for the Men's FIFA World Cup. Again, this is not a list of countries with the most overall World Cup wins, but rather a list of countries who won the most Jules Rimet Trophies while that trophy was in use:

  • Brazil - 3 (1958, 1962, 1970)
  • Italy - 2 (1934, 1938)
  • Uruguay - 2 (1930, 1950)
  • England - 1 (1966)
  • West Germany - 1 (1954)