FIFA World Cup Man of The Match Winners List

FIFA World Cup Man of the Match

At the FIFA World Cup, there are quite a few awards handed out throughout the course of the tournament. While a lot of attention goes to the trophies handed out at the very end of the tournament, such as the Golden Ball or Golden Boot awards, there is one award handed out after every World Cup match. This award is known as the Man of the Match Award, and it has been handed out after every World Cup match since 2002. 

Creation of the Man of the Match Award

As was mentioned above, FIFA began handing out a Man of the Match Award after every World Cup match starting in 2002. FIFA wanted to begin to create more excitement around each individual game and give out more recognition. For the 2002 and 2006 World Cups, the Man of the Match was chosen by the FIFA Technical Study Group, so the award was more official. Starting in 2010, FIFA decided to get their fans more involved in the matches, so the Man of the Match was now chosen by an online poll posted on FIFA’s website for each game. This same system was used for 2014, 2018 and will be used for the upcoming 2022 World Cup in Qatar.

Notable Man of the Match Award Winners

The players with the Most Man of the Match awards are some of the most talented footballers in history. Most notable, all-time greats Lionel Messi of Argentina and Cristiano Ronaldo of Portugal are tied for the most Man of the Match Awards with six each, along with Dutchman Arjen Robben. As for the most awards won at a single tournament, Wesley Sneijder at the 2010 World Cup in South Africa and Messi at the 2014 World Cup in Brazil each won four Man of the Match awards. When it comes to the most award wins by a single nation, Brazil and Germany each have had a player win this award twenty-two times. 

Most Man of the Match Wins In A Single World Cup

  • Rivaldo (3 Wins): 2002 South Korea/Japan World Cup
  • Andrea Pirlo (3 Wins): 2006 Germany World Cup
  • Wesley Sneijder (4 Wins): 2010 South Africa World Cup
  • Lionel Messi (4 Wins): 2014 Brazil World Cup
  • Antoine Griezmann (3 Wins): 2018 Russia World Cup

Most Man of the Match Wins By Player

  • Arjen Robben (Netherlands): 6 Wins (2006, 2010, 2014)
  • Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal): 6 Wins (2010, 2014, 2018)
  • Lionel Messi (Argentina):  6 Wins (2010, 2014, 2018)
  • Luis Suárez (Uruguay): 5 Wins (2010, 2014, 2018)
  • Eden Hazard (Belgium): 4 Wins (2014, 2018)
  • Keisuke Honda (Japan):  4 Wins (2010, 2014)
  • James Rodríguez (Colombia):  4 Wins (2014, 2018)
  • Miroslav Klose (Germany):  4 Wins (2002, 2006)
  • Park Ji-sung (South Korea): 4 Wins (2002, 2006, 2010)
  • Thomas Müller (Germany): 4 Wins (2010, 2014)
  • Wesley Sneijder (Netherlands):  4 Wins (2010)

Most Man of the Match Wins By Country

  • Brazil: 22 Wins
  • Germany:  22 Wins
  • France: 17 Wins
  • Spain: 16 Wins
  • Argentina: 15 Wins
  • England: 14 Wins
  • Mexico: 12 Wins
  • Netherlands: 12 Wins
  • South Korea: 11 Wins
  • Portugal:  11 Wins
  • United States:  11 Wins


What is the Fair Play Trophy in the FIFA World Cup?

The Fair Play Trophy at the FIFA World Cup is awarded to the team who has the least amount of yellow and red cards throughout the entire tournament. Only teams that advance to the knockout phase of the tournament are eligible. For winning this award, the nation receives a fair play medal for each player and official, a diploma, the FIFA Fair Play Trophy, and $50,000 worth of football equipment that is to be used for youth football development in their country.

Which country won the last fair play trophy in the FIFA World Cup?

At the 2018 World Cup in Russia, the Fair Play Trophy went to Spain. While Spain was disappointed that they were eliminated in the Round of Sixteen, they at least were able to receive all the perks that come with the Fair Play Trophy.