FIFA World Cup Host Countries List

fifa world cup host countries

The 2022 World Cup will go down in history as the first tournament to be held during the fall and winter seasons, as play will start on November 20 and finish right before Christmas. The Qatar World Cup will also be the first ever tournament to be held in the Middle East and only the second in the Asian continent.

Hosting the World Cup represents a great opportunity to showcase the strength of a nation not only in soccer terms but also in terms of development and infrastructure. Most host countries spend many years investing resources into building futuristic stadiums and interactive fan zones around the venues.

On December 2, 2010, FIFA announced that Qatar would be the host country for the 2022 World Cup, becoming the eighteenth country to host the tournament. Lusail, Al Khor, Al Rayyan, and Al Wakrah will each have a stadium as host cities, while the capital city, Doha, will have four stadiums. The final will be played at the Lusail Iconic Stadium in Lusail.

The Qatari World Cup will be only the third tournament not to be held in either Europe or one of the Americas. Eleven World Cups were hosted by European countries, while five in South America and three in North America. Italy and Brazil, the winningest countries, have held the tournament twice, while Mexico will become the first country to host three different World Cups, as the 2026 World Cup will have host cities in Canada, Mexico, and the United States. 

What Countries Have Hosted the FIFA World Cup?

Below is a list of countries that have hosted the FIFA World Cup organized alphabetically A-Z.

  • Argentina
  • Brazil
  • Chile
  • England
  • France
  • Germany
  • Italy
  • Japan
  • Mexico
  • Qatar
  • Russia
  • South Africa
  • South Korea
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
  • United States
  • Uruguay
  • West Germany

What Cities Have Hosted the FIFA World Cup?

Below is a list of cities that have hosted the FIFA World Cup organized alphabetically A-Z.

  • Camp Nou, Barcelona
  • Estadio Azteca, Mexico City
  • Estadio Centenario, Montevideo
  • Estadio Monumental, Buenos Aires
  • Estadio Nacional, Santiago
  • Iconic Stadium, Lusail
  • International Stadium, Yokohama, Japan
  • Luzhniki Stadium, Moscow
  • Maracanã Stadium, Rio de Janeiro
  • Olympiastadion, Berlin
  • Olympiastadion, Munich
  • Olympique de Colombes, Paris
  • Rose Bowl, Pasadena, California
  • San Siro, Milan
  • Soccer City, Johannesburg
  • Stade de France, Saint-Denis
  • Stadio Nazionale PNF, Rome
  • Ullevi Stadium, Gothenburg
  • Wankdorf Stadium, Bern
  • Wembley Stadium, London

How Many Times Has Each Country Hosted The FIFA World Cup?

Brazil, Italy, and Mexico have each hosted the FIFA World Cup two times.

Brazil21950, 2014
Italy21934, 1990
Mexico21970, 1986
South Africa12010
South Korea12002
United States11994
West Germany11974

List of FIFA World Cup Host Countries By Year

  • 1930 FIFA World Cup: Uruguay, Montevideo
  • 1934 FIFA World Cup: Italy, Rome
  • 1938 FIFA World Cup: France, Paris
  • 1950 FIFA World Cup: Brazil, Rio de Janeiro
  • 1954 FIFA World Cup: Switzerland, Bern
  • 1958 FIFA World Cup: Sweden, Gothenburg
  • 1962 FIFA World Cup: Chile, Santiago
  • 1966 FIFA World Cup: England, London
  • 1970 FIFA World Cup: Mexico, Mexico City
  • 1974 FIFA World Cup: West Germany, Munich
  • 1978 FIFA World Cup: Argentina, Buenos Aires
  • 1982 FIFA World Cup: Spain, Barcelona
  • 1986 FIFA World Cup: Mexico, Mexico City
  • 1990 FIFA World Cup: Italy, Milan
  • 1994 FIFA World Cup: United States, Pasadena, California
  • 1998 FIFA World Cup: France, Saint-Denis
  • 2002 FIFA World Cup: South Korea / Japan, Yokohama, Japan
  • 2006 FIFA World Cup: Germany, Berlin
  • 2010 FIFA World Cup: South Africa, Johannesburg
  • 2014 FIFA World Cup: Brazil, Rio de Janeiro
  • 2018 FIFA World Cup: Russia, Moscow
  • 2022 FIFA World Cup: Qatar, Lusail


What are the requirements for a country to host the FIFA World Cup?

Similarly to the Olympics, countries that want to host a World Cup have to submit a bid with a detailed infrastructure and operational plan to FIFA in order to be considered for the selection process. Many factors come into play in this process, with security and stadiums being the most important ones. The soccer level of the host country is not a requirement, as the World Cup can be used as a catalyst to increase the popularity of the sport in the country.

Does the host country automatically qualify for the FIFA World Cup?

A World Cup on home soil is a true soccer fest for the host country, as their national team automatically qualifies for the tournament. Playing at home gives a great push to the host team. In previous editions, host teams have usually had great journeys in the tournament, as host countries have made it to the semifinals thirteen times, while six of them (Argentina, England, France, Italy, Uruguay, and West Germany) ended up winning it.