1. Home
  2. Esports (Electronic Gaming)
  3. Hearthstone


Table of Contents


Hearthstone is an online game that was released in 2014. The game was created and developed by Blizzard Entertainment. Blizzard Entertainment also developed the games Diablo, Warcraft, and Starcraft. Hearthstone and Warcraft share the same universe and thus many similarities can be found between the two games.

Hearthstone is a one-versus-one card game. Players play against other real humans online. The more one plays the game, the more cards they collect and can use when battling other players.

In the game, one player plays one card at a time. To win, you must kill the other team's hero before yours is killed. Different cards cost a different amount of mana to use. Mana is accumulated over time throughout the match, and players will not always have enough mana to use certain cards.

There are different types of cards in the game. Cards can be minions, weapons, hero cards, or spells. Each different type of card has a different effect on the game, and should be deployed at different times. Every four months, new cards are added to the game.

When players begin the game they choose a class. The classes to choose from are druid, hunter, mage, priest, paladin, rogue, shaman, warrior, and warlock. Each class comes with advantages and disadvantages, as they have different abilities in game. The class that a player

chooses also affects what cards they begin the game with.

Hearthstone is an e-Sport and has appeared in several gaming tournaments. The most notable tournament which featured Hearthstone was The Innkeeper's Invitational. This tournament saw seven of the top Hearthstone players in the world pitted against one another.