Can You Sweep Your Own Stone In Curling?

Can You Sweep Your Own Stone In Curling

Curling is a sport played in teams where players attempt to slide a stone on the ice toward a target. To make the stone slide straight for longer, teams will sweep the ice in downward motions in front of the stone; this warms the ice gently and helps the stone glide more easily. Sweeping the ice or refraining from doing so may help speed the stone up or slow it down. But can you sweep your own stone in a game of curling? The short answer is yes, you can sweep your own in curling. 

Typically a player may sweep their own stone if they are a member of the delivering team and are between the tee lines, as any player of the delivering team may sweep the stone, and there are no rules against a player sweeping their own stone. One player who is a member of the delivering team may also sweep the stone behind the tee line. Though only one player may do so, this player may also be any member of the delivering team.

There are different circumstances where sweeping your stone or another player’s stone is appropriate. Read on to learn more.


When Can a Player Sweep Their Own Stone

curling stone

All players of the delivering team may sweep the stone of any member of their team as long as they are between the tee lines. This includes a player sweeping their own stone. At the playing end and behind the tee line, only one player may sweep the stone. However, this may also be any member of the delivering team.

When Can an Opponent's Stone Be Swept

When Can an Opponents Stone Be Swept

An opponent’s stone may not be swept until the front end of the stone crosses the tee line. At that point, members of the opposing team may sweep the opponent’s stone. One member of the delivering team may still sweep their stone to help it reach the target. However, in sweeping the stone, they may not block the sweeps of their opponents.

The sweeping motion must also not physically block the stone. The sweeping motion is purely meant to move debris to make the stone go farther. This means that the intent of sweeping may not be to leave debris in the way of the stone.

What Happens if You Sweep the Stone at the Wrong Time

If the delivering team touches their own stone with their equipment or part of their body while it is in play, that stone must be removed from play immediately. However, this is only applicable if it is touched before the hog line on the playing end. If it is touched after the hog line on the playing end, there are a couple of options. The opposing team can decide to leave the stone where it has come to rest or take it out of play.