Double Dribble In Basketball
Basketball Double Dribble
A double dribble in basketball is a personal violation given to a player that either uses two hands to dribble, or stops with the ball and starts dribbling again. It is a dead ball turnover, meaning the opposing team gets the ball out of bounds wherever the infraction occurred. Is it one of the most elementary rules of basketball and is much more common in youth games then in professional or college matches.
A dribble is considered to be completed once it has been grabbed with two hands or when one hand of a player has palmed or cradled the ball in his hand. Any other dribble after this point is illegal.
A player can dribble again even after picking up his dribble if the ball is knocked out of his hands or if he resets his dribble by hitting the rim on a shot. If a shot attempt fails to hit the rim and the shooting player grabs the rebound and begins to dribble again, he will be called for a double dribble violation.
A common strategy especially in street basketball games is to throw the player off a defender in order to reset and be allowed to dribble again.
An exception to the two hand rule is known as the power dribble, and occurs when a player who is posting up uses both hands to forcefully dribble the ball once to set up a post-move or back a defender down.