1. Home
  2. Basketball
  3. Basketball March Madness Universities With The Most Wins

Basketball March Madness Universities With The Most Wins

Table of Contents


Universities With The Most March Madness Wins

With March Madness right around the corner, college basketball fans around the world are hoping that their team can reach the ultimate goal: the championship title. Let's take a stroll down memory lane to see which teams have racked up the most championship titles.

Here's a look at the top five.

  1. UCLA Bruins, 11 wins
  2. Kentucky Wildcats, 8 wins
  3. North Carolina Tar Heels, 6 wins
  4. Duke Blue Devils, 5 wins
  5. Indiana Hoosiers, 5 wins

Bruins, University of California, Los Angeles (UCLA)

Wins: 11

Taking the top spot on the champions list, UCLA has won a grand total of 11 times. Coach John Wooden was with the team for their first 10 wins. The New York Times wrote that Wooden, "made UCLA the most successful team in college basketball." UCLA also holds the record for the most consecutive national titles. From 1967 to 1973, the team racked up 7 consecutive championships.

  • 1964 vs Duke
  • 1965 vs Michigan
  • 1967 vs Dayton
  • 1968 vs North Carolina
  • 1969 vs Purdue
  • 1970 vs Jacksonville
  • 1971 vs Villanova
  • 1972 vs Florida State
  • 1973 vs Memphis State
  • 1975 vs Kentucky
  • 1995 vs Arkansas

Wildcats, University of Kentucky

Wins: 8

The runner-up for national titles, the Kentucky Wildcats added their first national title to their list in 1948. However, many may recall their most recent win in 2012 when Kentucky's Anthony Davis broke the NCAA freshman block record, tallying up 183 for the season.

  • 1948 vs Baylor
  • 1949 vs Oklahoma
  • 1951 vs Kansas State
  • 1958 vs Seattle
  • 1978 vs Duke
  • 1996 vs Syracuse
  • 1998 vs Utah
  • 2012 vs Kansas

Tar Heels, University of North Carolina

Wins: 6

Up next is UNC in the third place slot. Back in 1957, the Tar Heels actually won their first championship title in a third overtime period, which was the only three-overtime game in the history of NCAA finals. North Carolina is also the most recent national winner, claiming the title for their 6th time in 2017.

  • 1957 vs Kansas
  • 1982 vs Georgetown
  • 1993 vs Michigan
  • 2005 vs Illinois
  • 2009 vs Michigan State
  • 2017 vs Gonzaga

Blue Devils, Duke University

Wins: 5

Close behind the Tar Heels are the Blue Devils of Duke University. The Blue Devils took their first win a little later than the other teams, defeating Kansas in 1991 with a score of 72-65. Duke won again in 1992, serving back-to-back consecutive titles.

  • 1991 vs Kansas
  • 1992 vs Michigan
  • 2001 vs Arizona
  • 2010 vs Butler
  • 2015 vs Wisconsin

Hoosiers, Indiana University

Wins: 5

Tied with Duke University for wins are the Indiana University Hoosiers. Coach Bob Knight led his team to an undefeated 32-0 record in their 1975-76 season, but their most recent victory in 1987 was because of the winning shots by guard Keith Smart. Smart had the two final shots, one of which was made with 5 seconds left on the clock, a near buzzer beater.

  • 1940 vs Kansas
  • 1953 vs Kansas
  • 1976 vs Michigan
  • 1981 vs North Carolina
  • 1987 vs Syracuse

If you want to brush up on your Basketball knowledge before this year's champion is decided, make sure to check out Rookie Road's Basketball tutorial to understand more about what goes into the game.


  • apst-300x250.jpg
  • aa-300x250.png