March Madness Final Four

The final four in basketball is the semifinals of the NCAA Division I Basketball Tournament. At this point, there are four teams left in the tournament, one from each section or region of the bracket. The winner from the top-ranked number one seed's region will play against the winner from the fourth-ranked number one seed's region, and the winner from the second-ranked number one seed's region will play against the winner from the third-ranked number one seed's region.

Making it to the final four is not only a huge accomplishment for the program of a school, but rewards an incredible sum of money to the conferences of the schools that get to this point or further. This means that even if a team’s conference rival has already been knocked out, they may want to root for them since they will be given a share of the profits.

Lowest Seed To Make The Final Four

Theoretically each number 1 seed should make it out of their region to the Final Four, however this has only happened once since the NCAA adopted the 64-team format in 1985. Memphis, Kansas, North Carolina and UCLA all made it to the semifinals in 2008 after earning the distinction of being a 1 seed going into the tournament.

To date North Carolina has the most Final Four appearances with 20, while UCLA and Kentucky are tied for second with eight.

The lowest seed in the tournament to make it to the Final Four is an 11 seed, with four teams accomplishing the feat. These teams were LSU in 1986, George Mason in 2006, VCU in 2011, and Loyola Chicago in 2018. However, none of these teams went on to win the championship.