Orlando Magic

Orlando Magic

The Orlando Magic were formed in 1987 as an expansion team. The Magic name is based off the amusement park 'Disney World'. Specifically, the name comes from the Magic Kingdom attraction.

Where do They Play?

The Magic are based in Orlando, Florida. The Magic play in the Amway Center, which has a capacity of approximately 20,000. The building was built in 2010. The team first played in a stadium called the Amway Arena, from 1987-2010.

What League and Conference are They in?

The Orlando Magic play in the Eastern Conference in the N.B.A. They play in the Southeast Division along with the Charlotte Hornets, Miami Heat, Washington Wizards and Atlanta Hawks.


The Orlando Magic have never won an NBA championship. However, the Magic did make it to the finals in 1995 and 2009.


The Magic's mascot is Stuff the Magic Dragon. The mascot's name comes from the song 'Puff the Magic Dragon'. The word stuff likely comes from the slang term stuff, which is often used in basketball to mean a block.

Richard DeVos Senior

The Magic's former owner Richard DeVos Senior recently passed away in 2018 at 92 years old. The team is now owned by a committee, with the majority of stakes being held by Richard DeVos' kids.

Head Coach

Steve Clifford is the head coach of the Orlando Magic. Other recent head coaches include Frank Vogel, Scott Skiles and Jacque Vaughn.

Famous Players

Famous players to play or have played for the Magic include Dwight Howard, Shaquille O'Neal, Penny Hardaway and Tracy McGrady. Out of these players, O'Neal is the most famous player. His legacy carries beyond the court, as he is now a basketball analyst.