Golden State Warriors

The Golden State Warriors were established in 1946 in Philadelphia, PA, as an original member of the Basketball Association of America. They play in the Western Conference and the Pacific Division and their rivals include the Cleveland Cavaliers. They joined the NBA at its inception and captured a championship in 1956 behind the play of Paul Azirin.

Wilt Era

In 1959, the Warriors added all-time great Wilt Chamberlain. Wilt famously scored 100 points in a game with Philadelphia in the last season before they relocated to San Francisco in 1962. The Warriors made it to two finals in 1964 and 1967, but Wilt, Rick Barry and Nate Thurmond were unsuccessful in capturing a title in either appearance.

The Warriors relocated to Oakland in 1971 and were renamed Golden State.

Golden State

Rick Barry returned to the team after a short stint with the ABA, where he and head coach Al Attles would lead the team to a second championship in an upset of the Washington Bullets in 1975. The success didn't last, however, and losing seasons accumulated rapidly over the next decade.

Run T.M.C

In a reference to the group Run D.M.C, the fast-paced Warriors led by star trio of Tim Hardaway, Mitch Richmond, and Chris Mullins with coach Don Nelson at the helm experienced regular season success. The all-stars failed to make it to a conference championship despite their ability and the years after their departure were futile.

The lone bright spot in the first decade of the 21st century occurred when the Warriors became the first ever team to win a playoff series against a one seed as an eight seed under the best of seven format.

Steph Curry

The point guard out of Davidson was said to be overrated by many, but revolutionized the game of basketball. Along with head coach Steve Kerr and splash brother Klay Thompson, the Warriors took the NBA by storm by focusing on three point shooting above all else. With future defensive player of the year Draymond Green and 6th man Andre Igoudala, Golden State won the championship in 2015 with Curry winning NBA MVP in both 2015 and 2016.

The 2016 season saw the Warriors set an NBA record with 73 wins and 9 losses. After easily earning the one seed, Golden State had to overcome a 3-1 deficit to the Oklahoma City Thunder in the Conference Finals before they themselves became the first team to lose the NBA Finals after leading 3-1 against the Cleveland Cavaliers and LeBron James.

That offseason, the acquisition of arguably the best player in the league in Kevin Durant created the expectation that Golden State would be unbeatable. The Warriors went on to win back to back championships with Durant and Curry leading the way in 2017 and 2018. Once again the favorite in 2019, the Warriors made it back to the finals before losing to Kawhi Leonard and the Toronto Raptors while dealing with many injuries as a team.

The Steph Curry led warriors are already one of the greatest dynasties in NBA history.

  • Founding Date: 1946
  • City: Oakland, CA (soon to be San Francisco in 2019)
  • Conference: NBA Western
  • Number of NBA Championships: 6 (most recent: 2017-18)
  • Mascot: N/A
  • Owner: Joe Lacob and Peter Guber
  • Head Coach: Steve Kerr
  • Stadium: Oracle Arena (soon to be Chase Center in 2019)