More Sportsbasketball101articlescoachingdrillsequipment listformationsfoulsgameshow toleaguespass typespositionsplayersquestionsreferee rolesruleslist of rulesshot typesskillsstatisticsstrategytermscourtstournamentstrainingtraining equipmenttrophiesviolationscollegelearnnba teamsmarch madnessnbawheelchair basketball
  1. basketball
  2. nba teams

List of NBA Basketball Teams

Basketball NBA Team

The NBA is divided into two conferences called the Western Conference and Eastern Conference. Each conference consists of 15 teams and 3 divisions with five teams per division. The NBA divided the teams into 2 conferences in 1971, giving the league the basic structure it still has to this day.

Table of Contents


How does the NBA postseason work?

In postseason play, these teams play within their conferences and determine an Eastern and Western conference champion. The Eastern and Western Conference Champions then play in a best of seven series called the NBA Finals to determine the NBA Champion. Since the creation of conferences, the West edges out the East with 26 titles compared to 22.


Sports ListsBasketball ArticlesSports Teams