National Women's Basketball League

Women's National Basketball Association (WNBA)

The national women's basketball association in basketball is a collection of 12 WNBA professional teams who compete against each other for a league championship. The team that wins the championship gets the championship trophy.

The league is currently being commissioned by Cathy Engelbert, who was just hired in 2019.

WNBA Teams

There are twelve total teams in The WNBA currently. The teams are separated into two conferences, the east and the west. They compete in a 34 game regular season, ending with eight teams making the playoffs, four from each conference.

Eastern Conference

  • Atlanta Dream
  • Chicago Sky
  • Connecticut Sun
  • Indiana Fever
  • New York Liberty
  • Washington Mystics

Western Conference

  • Dallas Wings
  • Las Vegas Aces
  • Los Angeles Sparks
  • Minnesota Lynx
  • Phoenix Mercury
  • Seattle Storm

WNBA History

The WNBA first launched in 1997, and was backed by men’s professional basketball league, The NBA. Since then, the league has seen many changes involving structure, management, and its teams. There have been five presidents/commissioners since the creation of the league as well as four teams added to the original eight.

WNBA Notable Players

Diana Taurasi

A former guard for the Phoenix Mercury, was drafted number 1 overall out of Connecticut.

Britney Griner

The current center for the Phoenix Mercury, is well known for her dunking ability.

Sue Bird

One of the greatest players ever to play, Sue Bird was a winner at all levels with four championships in college, four in the WNBA with the Seattle Storm, and two times in college.

Elena Della Donne

Della Donne is a member of the Washington Mystics, where she plays power forward.

Lisa Leslie

Leslie is an original member of the league. She played 12 seasons for The Los Angeles Sparks as the center.

Becky Hammon

Hammon is well known for her being hired as an assistant coach for The Spurs, making her the first woman coach in The NBA. She played in The WNBA as a guard for both The New York Liberty and The San Antonio Stars.

Lindsay Whalen

Whalen just retired in 2018 after 15 years as the point guard for The Minnesota Lynx and The Connecticut Sun.

Maya Moore

A forward for the Minnesota Lynx, Moore has been a consistent scoring threat as well as collegiate standout for UConn.

Candace Parker

Parker is a forward for the Los Angeles Sparks. She is a two time MVP as well as a former Finals MVP winner.

Cappie Pondexter

Pondexter is well respected throughout the WNBA, making stops in Phoenix, New York, Chicago, Los Angeles, and Indiana. She was a guard who is top ten in assists and top five in points scored.

Tamika Catchings

Catchings was a forward who played her entire career with the Indiana Fever. She was a 12 time all-WNBA player as well as 12 time all-defensive player.

WNBA Present Day

The league is thriving today, including just recently signing a new tv deal with CBS to have the games aired on CBS Sports Network. The talent in women’s basketball is at an all time high, as the emphasis shifts towards encouraging young women to go for their dreams as basketball players. The current slogan of the league “Watch Me Work” reflects the movement of normalizing women’s athletics to the public’s perception.

The History of the NWBL

The National Women’s Basketball League was created and organized to be a premier amateur women’s league in the United States. After its founding in 1997, the four original teams competed in a tournament style playoff bracket as the only games for the first 3 seasons. These teams included the San Diego Waves, Columbus Lady Blazers, Washington DC Defenders, and Long Beach Lightning. The league grew to include many teams across the country before the league transitioned into a professional organization. Starting in 2001 the league was turned into the NWBL Professional League dropping its amateur status. It lasted until 2007, or 7 seasons until it folded making its entire existence last 10 seasons.

The Professional Teams of the NWBL

The original teams in the professional iteration of the NWBL included the Atlanta Justice, Birmingham Power, Mobile Majesty, and Kansas City Legacy. By the end of the league in 2007 only the Birmingham Power remained as a franchise while expansion teams made up the other 5 teams. They included the Chicago Blaze, Colorado Chill, Houston Stealth, Springfield Spirit, and Tennessee Fury. The Houston Stealth and Colorado Chill tied with 2 NWBL Pro Cups titles for the most championships by a singular team.

Famous Alumni of the NWBL

Even though the league itself only lasted 10 seasons and 7 as a professional league they had a quality resume of star level players. They include Becky Hammon, current Spurs assistant coach, WNBA all-stars Sue Bird and Tamika Catchings as well as WNBA hall of famer Sheryl Swoopes. These players were leaders of the league during its short span of time in existence.