Basketball Icon

Basketball List Of NBA Teams

What are the teams in the NBA? How many teams are there? Get ready to learn about the NBA with this complete list of teams.

Basketball Teams

Until 1949, American basketball was split between two organizations, the Basketball Association of America and the National Basketball League. The two joined together to create the league we know today, the National Basketball Association (NBA). Beginning in the fall and ending in the early summer, teams play 82 season games each year and those with the best records play in the post-season.

Basketball team within the NBA are franchises. Franchise Teams are valuable organizations that consist of coaches, players, and management. Each team belongs to a North American city, has a mascot and team colors. Throughout the season, these franchises negotiate deals to try to build a successful team that can make it to the NBA finals.

List of NBA Basketball Teams

NBA Basketball Teams List

There are 30 basketball teams in the NBA. Here is a list of all 30 NBA teams ordered alphabetically:

  1. Atlanta Hawks
  2. Boston Celtics
  3. Brooklyn Nets
  4. Charlotte Hornets
  5. Chicago Bulls
  6. Cleveland Cavaliers
  7. Dallas Mavericks
  8. Denver Nuggets
  9. Detroit Pistons
  10. Golden State Warriors
  11. Houston Rockets
  12. Indiana Pacers
  13. LA Clippers
  14. Los Angeles Lakers
  15. Memphis Grizzlies
  16. Miami Heat
  17. Milwaukee Bucks
  18. Minnesota Timberwolves
  19. New Orleans Pelicans
  20. New York Knicks
  21. Oklahoma City Thunder
  22. Orlando Magic
  23. Philadelphia 76ers
  24. Phoenix Suns
  25. Portland Trailblazers
  26. Sacramento Kings
  27. San Antonio Spurs
  28. Toronto Raptors
  29. Utah Jazz
  30. Washington Wizards

The NBA is divided into two conferences called the Western Conference and Eastern Conference. Each conference consists of three divisions and 15 teams, five teams per division. The NBA divided the teams into two conferences in 1971, prior to that there were only divisions. These two conferences pick their best players and play an all-star game during the winter break. Since 1951, the East has had a lead over the West in all-star wins, 37-29.

In post-season play, these teams play within their conferences and determine an Eastern and Western conference champion. The Eastern and Western Champions play in the best of seven NBA Finals series to determine the overall champion. Since the creation of conferences, the West edges out the East with 26 titles compared to 22.

NBA Eastern Conference Teams

The NBA Eastern Conference has 15 teams in the Atlantic, Southeast and Central divisions. Here is a list of teams in the NBA Eastern Conference ordered alphabetically:

  • Atlanta Hawks
  • Boston Celtics
  • Brooklyn Nets
  • Charlotte Hornets
  • Chicago Bulls
  • Cleveland Cavaliers
  • Detroit Pistons
  • Indiana Pacers
  • Miami Heat
  • Milwaukee Bucks
  • New York Knicks
  • Orlando Magic
  • Philadelphia 76ers
  • Toronto Raptors
  • Washington Wizards

NBA Western Conference Teams

The NBA Western Conference has 15 teams in the Northwest, Pacific, and Southwest divisions. Here is a list of teams in the NBA Western Conference ordered alphabetically:

  • Dallas Mavericks
  • Denver Nuggets
  • Golden State Warriors
  • Houston Rockets
  • LA Clippers
  • Los Angeles Lakers
  • Memphis Grizzlies
  • Minnesota Timberwolves
  • New Orleans Pelicans
  • Oklahoma City Thunder
  • Phoenix Suns
  • Portland Trailblazers
  • Sacramento Kings
  • San Antonio Spurs
  • Utah Jazz

Search Results