MLB Baseball Teams List

Baseball List of MLB Teams

Before the creation of the MLB, the AL and NL were bitter rivals. This was caused when the AL moved its teams to the East Coast with the goal of taking away players that competed in the NL. Finally, in 1903, the National League and American League set aside their differences and converged together to create Major League Baseball.

The MLB season starts around February and March with Spring Training to prep the players for the upcoming season. The regular season starts in April and spans 162 games until the end of September. Teams who qualify for the playoffs begin postseason play in October.

There are 30 teams that compete in Major League Baseball. Below is a list of all 30 MLB teams ordered alphabetically.

  1. Arizona Diamondbacks
  2. Atlanta Braves
  3. Baltimore Orioles
  4. Boston Red Sox
  5. Chicago White Sox
  6. Chicago Cubs
  7. Cincinnati Reds
  8. Cleveland Indians
  9. Colorado Rockies
  10. Detroit Tigers
  11. Houston Astros
  12. Kansas City Royals
  13. Los Angeles Angels
  14. Los Angeles Dodgers
  15. Miami Marlins
  16. Milwaukee Brewers
  17. Minnesota Twins
  18. New York Yankees
  19. New York Mets
  20. Oakland Athletics
  21. Philadelphia Phillies
  22. Pittsburgh Pirates
  23. San Diego Padres
  24. San Francisco Giants
  25. Seattle Mariners
  26. St. Louis Cardinals
  27. Tampa Bay Rays
  28. Texas Rangers
  29. Toronto Blue Jays
  30. Washington Nationals

The MLB is divided into two conferences, the American League and the National League. Each conference consists of three divisions (West, Central and East) with five teams competing in each division.

Since 1933, the AL and NL also compete in an All-Star game every July where players from each conference are nominated by fans and coaches to play in the game.

At the conclusion of each season, the winner of the AL and the winner of the NL meet in the World Series to play a best of seven series. The AL leads the all-time record with 66 wins to the NL's 48 wins. The New York Yankees currently have the most World Series championships with 27.

MLB American League Teams

The American League (AL) consists of 15 teams that are split into three divisions: the AL West, the AL Central and the AL East. Here are the teams that compete in the American League ordered alphabetically.

  • Baltimore Orioles
  • Boston Red Sox
  • Chicago White Sox
  • Cleveland Indians
  • Detroit Tigers
  • Houston Astros
  • Kansas City Royals
  • Los Angeles Angels
  • Minnesota Twins
  • New York Yankees
  • Oakland Athletics
  • Seattle Mariners
  • Tampa Bay Rays
  • Texas Rangers
  • Toronto Blue Jays

MLB National League Teams

The National League (NL) consists of 15 teams that are split into three divisions: the NL West, the NL Central and the NL East. Here are the teams that compete in the National League ordered alphabetically.

  • Arizona Diamondbacks
  • Atlanta Braves
  • Chicago Cubs
  • Cincinnati Reds
  • Colorado Rockies
  • Los Angeles Dodgers
  • Miami Marlins
  • Milwaukee Brewers
  • New York Mets
  • Philadelphia Phillies
  • Pittsburgh Pirates
  • San Diego Padres
  • San Francisco Giants
  • St. Louis Cardinals
  • Washington Nationals