Baseball Overthrows

What happens when a fielder throws the baseball into foul territory? Or when a pitcher throws the baseball way outside the strike zone? How many bases is a baserunner allowed to advance? Get ready to learn about the rules of overthrows and wild pitches in baseball.

Introduction

As a fielder, sometimes you'll make a mistake. It happens very rarely at the professional level, but humans aren't perfect. Errors do happen and when they do, they can affect the outcome of a game.

Baseball Throwing Errors

There are two (2) types of throwing errors we will cover:

  1. Overthrows
  2. Wild Pitches

In this tutorial, we will learn about throwing errors, when they happen, how to prevent them as a fielder, and the rules that define them in baseball.

Overthrows

Fielders do not always make perfect throws. Sometimes, they will attempt to throw the baseball to another fielder, but accidentally throw it too far, causing the baseball to go into the dugout, stands, or another territory that is out of play (NOT including foul territory).

When this happens, the batter-runner and any runners on base are allowed to advance two (2) bases.

Wild Pitch

While wild pitches are not technically considered overthrows, they occur when a pitcher throws a baseball that is so far from the strike zone that the catcher is unable to catch it. In this case, runners may advance.

If the pitch was the batter's third strike, the batter may also advance to first base. However, it is not considered a wild pitch if no runner advanced bases. If the bases are empty and the batter had less than two (2) strikes, it is not considered a wild pitch even if the catcher was unable to catch it.

Search Results