Baseball Ground Rule Doubles

What is a ground rule double? When do they happen? Get ready to learn about ground rule doubles in baseball.

Introduction

We've already learned about the batter and what it means to be at-bat. A goal of the batter is to get on-base by hitting pitches thrown by the pitcher. Sometimes, the baseball is hit into an object like a bush or into the stands. Is that allowed in baseball?

In this tutorial, we will learn about ground rule doubles in baseball, what they are, and how they impact a baseball game.

Ground Rule Doubles

What happens if a baseball lands in fair territory, but bounces out of the reach of fielders? Such instances happen if a baseball lands in the far edge of the outfield, then bounces into the stands. Stadiums might have features that lead to ground rule doubles as well; for example, Wrigley Field in Chicago grows ivy on their outfield fence, and baseballs sometimes get lodged into the plants. Such hits are not considered home runs (which we will learn about later in this chapter), because they did not initially land beyond the outfield fence. Instead, they are ground rule doubles.

Baseball Ground Rule Double

When a batter hits a ground rule double, he is automatically entitled to second base. All runners already on base get to advance two (2) bases as well.

Search Results